Basco (Santo Domingo de Basco)

Basco (also known as Santo Domingo de Basco) is a 5th class municipality in the province of Batanes, Philippines. It is the capital municipality of Batanes. According to the latest census, it has a population of 7,517 people in 1,469 households.

Basco is located on , the second largest island among the Batanes Islands which comprises the province, and are the northernmost islands of the Philippines. Basco has a domestic airport, Basco Airport, serving flights from Manila.

The town is named after Capitán General José Basco, who led the Philippines to freedom from the control of New Spain, which is today Mexico.

The Basco Lighthouse is one of the landmarks.

Basco is politically subdivided into 6 barangays.
* Ihuvok II (Kayvaluganan)
* Ihuvok I (Kaychanarianan)
* San Antonio
* San Joaquin
* Chanarian
* Kayhuvokan

* Basco Central School
* Diptan Elementary School
* Batanes National Science High School
* Saint Dominic College
* Batanes State College

Web References:,_Batanes

asisbiz website qrcode x100

If you love photography as much as we do please help!
A small donation can go a long way allowing us to make this site even better !!
If you have any additional historical information about any of the photo's featured on our website please email me so we can add more information.
This webpage was updated July 15, 2014

 Editor for Asisbiz: Matthew Laird Acred
Please help us to improve these articles with any additional information or photo's, if you should encounter any broken links or display errors :-(