Meilamu Pagoda Thudhamma Road

North Okkalapa Township

North Okkalapa Township is located in the eastern part of Yangon. The township comprises 19 wards, and shares borders with Hlegu township and Mingaladon township in the north, North Dagon township in the east, Mingaladon township and Mayangon township in the west, and Kamayut township, and Mayangon township and South Okkalapa township in the south. North Okkalapa was one of the satellite towns established in 1959.

Today, it is a firmly established part of the city, albeit with nominal access to the city's electricity grid and sewer system. Like most areas in the city, especially in working class neighborhoods like North Okkalapa, night-time electricity is available once every two or three days.

Yangon City Heritage List

The Yangon City Heritage List is a list of man-made landmarks in Yangon, Myanmar, so designated by the city government, Yangon City Development Committee. The list consists of 188 structures (as of 2001), and is largely made up of mostly religious structures and British colonial era buildings. The list is presented by the township in which the structures are located. In 2010, the Ministry of Culture further announced that 16 ancient pagodas in Yangon Division are recognized as cultural heritage sites, effective 10 February 2010. The Shwedagon Pagoda is recognized as both an Ancient Monument Zone and Protected and Preserved Zone. The other 15 are listed as Ancient Monument Zone.

Web References:

asisbiz website qrcode x100

If you love photography as much as we do please help!
A small donation can go a long way allowing us to make this site even better !!
If you have any additional historical information about any of the photo's featured on our website please email me so we can add more information.
This webpage was updated September 06, 2014

 Editor for Asisbiz: Matthew Laird Acred
Please help us to improve these articles with any additional information or photo's, if you should encounter any broken links or display errors :-(